Top Ten Tuesday: For Fans of Myths, Fairy Tales and Classics

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week I will make a list of 10 books, authors or other bookish things surrounding a certain topic. This week, I’m talking about retellings of myths, classics and fairy tales that I’ve really enjoyed. 

 

Daughter of the Forest (Sevenwaters #1) by Juliet Marillier // This is a retelling of the fairy tale The Six Swans. I have to admit that I wasn’t familiar with it before reading this book, and it didn’t hinder my enjoyment whatsoever. This book is absolutely brilliant, and it manages to create a perfect blend of Irish culture and the German fairy tale.

Cinder & Ella (Cinder & Ella #1) by Kelly Oram // Obviously, this is a Cinderella retelling… I adore this book. Not only is it fluffy and wonderful, it also tackles some more serious aspects of the main characters’ lives. There’s disability rep, a Latinx main character, positive therapy rep, etc. 

Thorn by Intisar Khanani // Again, I’m not very familiar with The Goose Girl which is what this book is based on. But I absolutely loved the reading experience. Intisar Khanani is one of my favorite underrated authors! 

Hounded (Iron Druid #1) by Kevin Hearne // This is a bit different than the previous ones because it focuses on mythology instead of fairy tales. The main character Atticus is a 21-century-old Druid. And he often gets in trouble with the gods. This series combines multiple pantheons. Obviously, there are the old Irish gods. And the Norse ones. And Maria and Jesus make an appearance too. I’ve only read the first two books so far, but I love them nonetheless. 

Uprooted by Naomi Novik // If I’m not mistaken, this is very loosely based on Beauty and the Beast. Please, correct me if I’m wrong. If you haven’t read this fantasy stand alone yet, I’d highly recommend it. 

 

The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller // Who is surprised by this pick? ABSOLUTELY NO ONE. This is one of my all-time favorite books. I love it. It’s sort of a retelling of The Iliad, because it follows the life of Achilles from boy to Troy -haha. But it’s told through the eyes of Patroclus, his partner.

The Summer of Chasing Mermaids by Sarah Ockler // I think this is very, very loosely based on The Little Mermaid? Anyway, I loved this contemporary read. It follows Elyse d’Abreau, who used to be the most beautiful singer in Tobago. Now, she can’t even speak.

Troy // Yes, I’m throwing in movies too. Troy is still one of my favorite movies! It’s a retelling of The Iliad by Homer, and stars Brad Pitt as Achilles. I don’t know what it is about this movie that just draws me in every time. (Well, it’s probably Brad Pitt…)

Clueless // Another one of my favorite movies! This one is just so nostalgic. If you aren’t aware, Clueless is a retelling of Emma by Jane Austen set in the 90s in Los Angeles. I watched this way before reading Emma. While I was reading Emma, I couldn’t help but draw parallels to the movie, which made the reading experience that much more enjoyable. 

She’s the Man // I have never read any Shakespeare aside from parts of Romeo and Juliet. But I love this movie, which is based on Shakespeare’s Twelfth Night

BONUS: 10 Things I Hate About You // Again, I haven’t read the original work this is based on because it’s another one of Shakespeare’s, namely The Taming of the Shrew. But I just couldn’t leave it off of my list! I adore this movie. And Heath Ledger.


Those are some of my favorite retellings, both in books and movies! I didn’t include any Rick Riordan, because you already know how much I love his work. What are your favorite retellings?

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: For Fans of Myths, Fairy Tales and Classics

  1. Gah I’ve been meaning to read The Song of Achilles for sooo long! Really need to pick it up one of these days.

    :O I didn’t know that The Summer of Chasing Mermaids was a retelling! Bumping it up to a higher position on my TBR, in that case. 😉

    Like

    1. Yes, you do! It’s wonderful. I mean, I think it is? It’s one of those retellings that doesn’t truly stick to the story, but you can glimpse the elements of it anyway. (And if it wasn’t meant as one and I just made that up in my mind, it should be. 😀 )

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s