Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag 2018

I’m actually doing a tag. Surprising, right? I’ve seen pretty much everyone doing this tag and I really like the questions. It’s kind of like a mid-year wrap up. So let’s get into it! The tag was created by Chami and Ely.

Best book you’ve read so far in 2018

I can’t pick because all of these were amazing. Red Sister was my first Mark Lawrence book, and I can’t wait to read more of his works. I mean, assassin nuns (in training)? Yes. The Heart Forger was an incredible sequel to The Bone Witch. I’m so invested in this story and these characters. I also finally picked up The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet and fell in love with it. Fantastic world, wonderful and intriguing characters and space!

Best sequel you’ve read so far in 2018.

I mentioned The Heart Forger above, so I won’t go into details. Just know that this series is great. I also read Morning Star (and Golden Son), the last book in the Red Rising series. What a finale…

New release you haven’t read yet, but want to.

I’ve heard so many great things about The Poppy War, and I really need to buy it. I adored Alice Oseman’s Radio Silence, so I Was Born for This was one of my most anticipated books of the year. I own a copy but I still haven’t read it. The Kiss Quotientsounds like an incredible read! A romance with a Vietnamese-Swedish love interest and a woman who has Asperger’s (which I believe is own voices). Uprooted was also one of my favorite novels in the past few years, so I’m looking forward to reading Naomi Novik’s latest retelling, Spinning Silver.

Most anticipated release for the second half of the year.

I adore Becky Albertalli so I’m looking forward to read the book she co-wrote with Adam Silvera, What If It’s Us. The synopsis sounds so wonderful! Obviously, The Lady’s Guide to Petticoats and Piracy is one of my most anticipated books of the year. I can’t wait to read Felicity’s story!

Biggest disappointment.

before i let go

Before I Let Go was one of my most anticipated books of the year, and I was left quite disappointed. I didn’t hate it, but I didn’t really like it either. It ended up being a 2-star read. I far preferred the author’s debut novel, This Is Where It Ends.

Biggest surprise.

if we were villains

If We Were Villains was the biggest surprise of the year so far. I picked it up at the library and I had never heard anyone talk about it. It was described as perfect for fans of Donna Tartt’s The Secret History and I honestly couldn’t agree more. Great book!

Favourite new author. (Debut or new to you)

pachinko

Min Jin LeePachinko was a very moving and sad read, but I loved it nonetheless. Min Jin Lee did a terrific job describing the lives of this family throughout the decades.

Newest fictional crush.

traitor to the throne

Rahim, from Traitor to the Throne by Alwyn Hamilton. I want to see him play a bigger role in the third book because I adore him!

Newest favourite character.

leah on the offbeat

Leah. I know she technically isn’t a new character to me, but we’re going to go with it anyway. I know many people found her annoying but she was just so relatable to me. I adored Leah. She wasn’t perfect, she has her flaws and sometimes her knee-jerk reactions are awful but she’s so real to me.

Book that made you cry.

I don’t think a book has made me cry yet this year!

Book that made you happy.

circe

I was so happy while reading Circe because I’ve been waiting for another Madeline Miller book for ages! Also, this book was fantastic.

Favourite book to film adaptation you saw this year.

love, simon

No doubt about it. I adored Love, Simon which is the adaptation of Becky Albertalli’s Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda. It made me laugh and cry!

Favourite review you’ve written this year.

I haven’t really written many this year, so I’m not entirely sure which one to pick. Maybe my review of If We Were Villains? I like writing reviews of books I think aren’t mentioned enough in the bookish community.

Most beautiful book you’ve bought so far this year (or received)

children of blood and bone

The cover of Children of Blood and Bone is absolutely stunning. I need to read this book before the end of the month because I’m hoping to get my copy signed at YALC!

What books do you need to read by the end of the year?

Grey Sister is one I really need to finish. I started this sequel to Red Sister after it arrived in the mail but I was in a huge reading slump at the time. So I want to pick it back up now I’m getting out of said slump! I also really need to read The Way of Kings by Brandon Sanderson. I adore Sanderson’s works and this book has been on my shelf for a while… It’s just so intimidating!

 

19 thoughts on “Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag 2018

  1. I think I agree with literally everything you wrote down here for the books I’ve read, so I’m just going to add the rest of the books you loved to my TBR. 😀

    Like

  2. I always related to Leah too! And Love, Simon was such a perfect, wonderful adaptation of that book. Totally agree! And there are lots of books here I haven’t heard of yet. Thanks for introducing me to some new potential reads!

    Like

  3. So many amazing books! I quite liked This is Where it Ends as well, but I’ve never let Before I Let Go so I cannot really compare! For me personally one of the books I’m most looking forward to reading is also Circe… I’ve heard amazing things and I highly enjoyed Miller’s previous book. Best of luck for the second half of the year!

    Like

  4. But … but … Morning Star isn’t the last part in the Red Rising series! It continues with Iron Gold and Dark Age and whatever that yet to be titled book will be called haha I am very happy you loved Morning Star though. It’s a great book!

    Like

          1. While there are new characters, it definitely feels like a continuation. Darrow is still narrator and all, even if he isn’t the only one anymore. You can continue to call it a trilogy though? It could just as well end with Morning Star.

            Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s