New-to-me authors of 2018 | #TopTenTuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly post hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl. Today, we’re talking about our favorite new-to-us authors! I probably won’t choose 10 as I read around 70 books in 2018. Choosing 10 would just be too much, especially since it would become a partial recreation of my favorite reads of the year list. Here are some new authors that stood out to me!

MARK LAWRENCE

Read: Red Sister, Grey Sister, Prince of Thorns
I started reading Mark Lawrence’s books this year, and I couldn’t be happier about it. I’d heard nothing but incredible things about his books for years, especially on r/fantasy. However, his books made me feel really intimidated and I just couldn’t get started on them. Until Red Sister came along. I fell in love with this story about assassin nuns and their friendships and relationships. If there’s one of his series you definitely HAVE to read, it’s the Book of the Ancestor series.

M.L. RIO

if we were villains

Read: If We Were Villains
I picked this up at the library on a whim. I had never heard anyone talk about this before, but it was described as perfect for fans of The Secret History by Donna Tartt. I adore that book, so I decided to give this one a try – and promptly fell in love with it. I’ve seen it mentioned a bit more this year, which gives me hope that more people will read it.

MIN JIN LEE

pachinko

Read: Pachinko
I bought this because I saw it mentioned on a YouTuber’s favorite books of 2017 list. I can’t remember whose video it was, otherwise I would’ve credited them here. Anyway, this is a generational novel set in Korea and Japan, starting in 1911. It was beautiful and heart breaking, and Min Jin Lee crushed my heart. I will definitely read more of her works.

ANGIE THOMAS

the-hate-u-give

Read: The Hate U Give
I know I should’ve read this book last year, but I didn’t. I did listen to the audiobook in 2018, and it blew my mind. This book is fantastic. It’s real, and sad, and makes you feel awful because of the world we live in. But it’s also humorous, filled with hope, and highlights healthy friendships and families. I will definitely read On the Come Up when it gets released.

KEVIN KWAN

Read: Crazy Rich Asians, China Rich Girlfriend, Rich People Problems
I binge-read this entire trilogy in 2018. Is it entirely without its problems? Of course not. Is it still a fantastic and addictive series? Yes! It made me laugh out loud multiple times, managed to teach me some Mandarin as well as make me a bit more familiar with a different culture, had me rooting for so many characters, and oh yeah, made me laugh out loud multiple times. Did I say that twice? Oops.

JESSICA TOWNSEND

Read: Nevermoor, Wundersmith
Jessica Townsend captured my heart in 2018 with her Nevermoor series. It’s been a long time since I’ve loved a middle grade fantasy that much. No shade, I’m just not the target audience and it shows most of the time. This, however, was perfect. It felt nostalgic, magical, wonderful, and all the positive descriptors you can think of. But it also addressed some more serious topics, like emotional abuse, being ostracized, friendships and betrayals, and more. It’s just so good.

AMIE KAUFMAN & JAY KRISTOFF

illuminae

Read: Illuminae 
Both authors were new to me. Surprising, right? They’re both incredibly popular in the YA community, but I hadn’t read any of their works. I randomly started the audiobook of Illuminae while commuting in 2018, and immediately knew I’d end up giving it 5 stars. The audiobook is fantastic, but I’d recommend combining it with a physical copy/ebook to get the best reading experience. I’ll definitely continue the series.


32 thoughts on “New-to-me authors of 2018 | #TopTenTuesday

  1. Nice list! I loved the Illuminae Files, it is such a great series! Very creepy too. I have heard A LOT about The Hate U Give but haven’t read it yet.

    Like

  2. I love the sound of If We Were Villains – especially as it’s being compared to Secret History which is one of amy all time favourites – large boots to fill but I’m going to give that one a try and see how it works out.
    Lynn 😀

    Like

  3. Lovely list! I read Mark Lawrence and Jessica Townsend for the first time in 2018 too. I didn’t love Red Sister, but I adored Nevermoor. I’m so excited to continue reading the series. Hopefully I’ll read Kevin Kwan and M.L Rio soon too, their books are high on my TBR 😊

    Like

  4. Yay, If We Were Villains! I had an ARC for it and I’ve been gushing about it ever since haha. It always excites me when I see someone else has picked it up and enjoyed it 🙂 Mark Lawrence’s books have been high on my TBR for a long time, and I can’t wait to dive into Red Sister asap.

    Like

  5. Great list! So many of these books are on my TBR. I’m hoping to get to Red Sister this month – I mean it’s a series about assassin nuns, why haven’t I read it yet? – and Nevermoor, Pachinko, The Hate U Give and If We Were Villains are all on my TBR, too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s